Dunce Q: Place ball when out of bounds?

Joined
Aug 19, 2020
Posts
10,224
Reaction score
7,084
Bookie:
$ 40,000.00
I’m old and watch lots of football. Why the fuck do I not know the answer to the following question, and why isn’t it easy to research?:

Scenario: player is rushing forward and toward the sideline. He jumps from the 50 yard line extending the ball forward and away from his body. The ball crosses over the out of bounds line at the 49. He keeps extending the ball forward. When his foot finally actually lands Out of bounds, the ball is at the 46.

Where should the referee place the ball? The 49 or the 46?
And is this rule different than in the NFL?
 
46

The ball is placed where it is when his foot or any other part of his body touches out of bounds.
 
46

The ball is placed where it is when his foot goes out of bounds.
You see. That’s what I thought. And that’s what I saw in the games last night.
But the refs and rules consultant in the Houston Texans game just now said different.
 
46

The ball is placed where it is when his foot or any other part of his body touches out of bounds.
Also, what happens when this happens at the goal line?
You dive from the 4. Ball crosses out of bounds at the 2 yard line. But either the ball or a part of your body hits out of bounds FIRST when the ball is a yard past the pylon (but out of bounds as we said). What happens?
 
Same as a TD.

You can break the plane of the endzone when your body touches out of bounds after.
 
Cfb or nfl or both?

Both

All you have to do is hit any portion of the the marker with the ball before a part of your body touches out-of-bounds and it's a TD

end-zone-marker-high-school-260nw-1498373741.jpg
 
46

The ball is placed where it is when his foot or any other part of his body touches out of bounds.
So the End Zone line extends into infinity, as long as the body is still in bounds; the ball can cross outside of the boundary but cross the imaginary end line, and be a touchdown.
 
Y’all are giving different answers. Lol.
 
So the End Zone line extends into infinity, as long as the body is still in bounds; the ball can cross outside of the boundary but cross the imaginary end line, and be a touchdown.

No.

Only to the outside of the marker.

If the ball touches any portion of the marker before a part of the body touches either in or out of bounds, it's a TD.

1638741496651.png
 
I’ve definitely seen it marked where the ball crosses out of bounds and not where it is when you first touch out of bounds. In fact, I just saw it minutes ago in the nfl Texans game. They didn’t give him the first down.
but last night, we all saw that they placed it where it was when the runner landed out of bounds
 
I’ve definitely seen it marked where the ball crosses out of bounds and not where it is when you first touch out of bounds. In fact, I just saw it minutes ago in the nfl Texans game. They didn’t give him the first down.
but last night, we all saw that they placed it where it was when the runner landed out of bounds
Yes
It seems like it's different all the time.
 
Again:
You dove from the four.
ball crosses over out of bounds at 2.
The ball or your body doesn’t actually touch out of bounds until the ball is past the goal line (but out of bounds).
TD? Or ball placed at 2?
 
YTF is this so difficult. We’re all a bunch of old fucks who obsess over football and have watched thousands of games between us… and yet none of us knows the answer?
 
"Whut" hell.

If the ball touches any portion of that marker before your knee/foot/hip, etc is down inbounds or out-of-bounds, it's a TD.

Every time.

View attachment 51579
No one is talking about the ball touching the pylon. The ball is out of bounds in my scenario.
 
Back
Top