Dunce Q: Place ball when out of bounds?

Still out of bounds. The ball never breaks the plane at any point and no part of the offensive player’s body is in bounds. Wouldn’t be a touchback they would say it’s out if bounds where the ball crossed the plane if the sideline.
So are you saying it’s different only because it’s at the goal line?

Are you saying it’d be the “46” (where the ball is when you touch out of bounds) in the OP scenario, but judged differently (where it crosses over out of bounds) in the goal line scenario? Two different standards? If YES, can we find those different rules written somewhere?
 
Yes, as someone else alluded to earlier, the goal line goes on into infinity..... so if the player is in possession of the ball, in bounds, as the ball crosses the goal line (even if it is held over the out of bounds at the time) it is a TD.
So a complete dive out of bounds but crosses the infinity line before your body touches down out of bounds, you’re saying that’s a TD?
because it isn’t. Just facts.
 
So y’all are giving complete different answers. Even giving different answers depending whether or not it’s at the goal line. Isn’t it weird given that we all watch football a lot, and it’s pretty damn important… not some esoteric weird situation.
 
I was at the ND/Stanford game in 2018 and there was a 3rd down play where Miles Boykin caught the ball at the sideline and extended his arms with the ball clearly beyond the line to gain but his feet never got there. The ball went “out of bounds” before his feet did but the ref marked the ball where his feet went out of bounds. Play happened pretty much right in front of me and it seemed pretty obviously a first down. It took a booth review to overturn the call on the field but I recall watching a replay later and the tv “rules analyst” said it should be spotted where the ball crossed the plane of the sideline.
 
So if I dive from the four, the ball crosses out of bounds at the two, never comes back inbounds, but I actually touch out of bounds when the ball is past the “infinite” goal line, then it’s a TD?

Then you are out of bounds. You are out of bounds as soon as you touch any part of your body out.

The question was can the ball be out of bounds and still recorded as a TD. If the player is out of bounds then the play is over at that moment....no matter where the ball may be. The ball is marked at the point where the player went out of bounds.
 
I was at the ND/Stanford game in 2018 and there was a 3rd down play where Miles Boykin caught the ball at the sideline and extended his arms with the ball clearly beyond the line to gain but his feet never got there. The ball went “out of bounds” before his feet did but the ref marked the ball where his feet went out of bounds. Play happened pretty much right in front of me and it seemed pretty obviously a first down. It took a booth review to overturn the call on the field but I recall watching a replay later and the tv “rules analyst” said it should be spotted where the ball crossed the plane of the sideline.
And last night, they said the opposite in one of the cfb games. And then today, they said what you said above in the nfl game
 
So are you saying it’s different only because it’s at the goal line?

Are you saying it’d be the “46” (where the ball is when you touch out of bounds) in the OP scenario, but judged differently (where it crosses over out of bounds) in the goal line scenario? Two different standards? If YES, can we find those different rules written somewhere?
If I’ve heard the rule correctly it’s where the ball crosses the plane of the sideline.

I was only responding to your goal line hypothetical.
 
So a complete dive out of bounds but crosses the infinity line before your body touches down out of bounds, you’re saying that’s a TD?
because it isn’t. Just facts.
Yes it is. Re-read what you just wrote.
 
Then you are out of bounds. You are out of bounds as soon as you touch any part of your body out.

The question was can the ball be out of bounds and still recorded as a TD. If the player is out of bounds then the play is over at that moment....no matter where the ball may be. The ball is marked at the point where the player went out of bounds.
You didn’t answer.
i dive with both feet inbounds at the 4.
The ball crosses over out of bounds at the two.
The ball is well past (north of) the infinite goal line (out of bounds) when either the ball or an elbow or any part of the body finally actually touches out of bounds.
TD or not?
 
If I’ve heard the rule correctly it’s where the ball crosses the plane of the sideline.

I was only responding to your goal line hypothetical.
So in the OP scenario, you’re saying “49” as the answer?
 
Yes it is. Re-read what you just wrote.
I specifically said the player had to be inbounds at the time the ball crossed the plane....your guy in your scenario landed out of bounds. It's like a recv'r. not getting his feet down before going out of bounds on a catch...
 
Yes it is. Re-read what you just wrote.
It literally is not. I’ve seen it NOT called a TD many times. The video I posted above references some rules
 
I specifically said the player had to be inbounds at the time the ball crossed the plane....your guy in your scenario landed out of bounds. It's like a recv'r. not getting his feet down before going out of bounds on a catch...
So you’re just not responding to the point of this thread. Ok.
well, then, can we have your answer to this actual thread scenario?

AGAIN:
Scenario: player is rushing forward and toward the sideline. He jumps from the 50 yard line extending the ball forward and away from his body. The ball crosses over the out of bounds line at the 49. He keeps extending the ball forward. When his foot finally actually lands Out of bounds, the ball is at the 46.

Where should the referee place the ball? The 49 or the 46?
 
So in the OP scenario, you’re saying “49” as the answer?
Should be, but I am basing that entirely on what that rules guy said in the ND game.
 
So you’re just not responding to the point of this thread. Ok.
well, then, can we have your answer to this actual thread scenario?

AGAIN:
Scenario: player is rushing forward and toward the sideline. He jumps from the 50 yard line extending the ball forward and away from his body. The ball crosses over the out of bounds line at the 49. He keeps extending the ball forward. When his foot finally actually lands Out of bounds, the ball is at the 46.

Where should the referee place the ball? The 49 or the 46?
I responded with the correct answer and thus no more need for your thread so that is why you won't accept the reality. Perhaps you've lead with your head on too many tackles. But regardless....

Wherever the ball is at the moment his feet touch out of bounds, is where the ball is placed.

You are making this more difficult than it is. I think you get it wrong because you want to get it wrong... for arguing sake.
 
I responded with the correct answer and thus no more need for your thread so that is why you won't accept the reality. Perhaps you've lead with your head on too many tackles. But regardless....

Wherever the ball is at the moment his feet touch out of bounds, is where the ball is placed.

You are making this more difficult than it is. I think you get it wrong because you want to get it wrong... for arguing sake.
So then Touchdown?
Because it’s not.
thus the point of the thread.
 
So you’re just not responding to the point of this thread. Ok.
well, then, can we have your answer to this actual thread scenario?

AGAIN:
Scenario: player is rushing forward and toward the sideline. He jumps from the 50 yard line extending the ball forward and away from his body. The ball crosses over the out of bounds line at the 49. He keeps extending the ball forward. When his foot finally actually lands Out of bounds, the ball is at the 46.

Where should the referee place the ball? The 49 or the 46?

Forward progress....unless you can find a reason the play should have ended before he reached the 49 yard mark....he gets to make forward progress...the ball is marked where that is...in this case the 49.

You are somehow wanting the player penalized for sticking the ball over the out of bounds line although the player is still "inbounds" and thus still eligible to advance the ball.
 
I responded with the correct answer and thus no more need for your thread so that is why you won't accept the reality. Perhaps you've lead with your head on too many tackles. But regardless....

Wherever the ball is at the moment his feet touch out of bounds, is where the ball is placed.

You are making this more difficult than it is. I think you get it wrong because you want to get it wrong... for arguing sake.
If it was as simple as you describe, you’d never see runners try to extend the ball inside the pylon. So simply, you’re wrong.
 
So then Touchdown?
Because it’s not.
thus the point of the thread.
So if you saw someone record it wrong now the rules have changed for everyone else from now on???

WOW! I did not know that!
 
Forward progress....unless you can find a reason the play should have ended before he reached the 49 yard mark....he gets to make forward progress...the ball is marked where that is...in this case the 49.

You are somehow wanting the player penalized for sticking the ball over the out of bounds line although the player is still "inbounds" and thus still eligible to advance the ball.
In the scenario, the ball is at the 46 when he finally touches out of bounds. So you’re either now contradicting yourself or typo???
 
Back
Top