Follow along with the video below to see how to install our site as a web app on your home screen.
Note: This feature may not be available in some browsers.
Jesus Christ that is not the rule. The exception in 4d clearly says for an airborne player (even a striding runner) the ball is spotted where THE BALL crosses the sideline boundary. In your original fact pattern player leaps at the 50 ball goes out of bounds at the 49. Since the ball never re-enters the field of play and the player lands out of bounds everything after this point is irrelevant. Ball placed on the 49.No. The rule looks to say it’s the 46, ahead of the 49
Yup. I read the first part, and not the exception. It’s the 49.Jesus Christ that is not the rule. The exception in 4d clearly says for an airborne player (even a striding runner) the ball is spotted where THE BALL crosses the sideline boundary. In your original fact pattern player leaps at the 50 ball goes out of bounds at the 49. Since the ball never re-enters the field of play and the player lands out of bounds everything after this point is irrelevant. Ball placed on the 49.
He's not really interested in the answer to his original question, hell, he's offered a couple others in there since...he's only interested in arguing a point. He's actually so fucking stupid that he doesn't even mind if he's shown repeatedly to be wrong, he insists on continuing to argue. That's all he wants....Jesus Christ that is not the rule. The exception in 4d clearly says for an airborne player (even a striding runner) the ball is spotted where THE BALL crosses the sideline boundary. In your original fact pattern player leaps at the 50 ball goes out of bounds at the 49. Since the ball never re-enters the field of play and the player lands out of bounds everything after this point is irrelevant. Ball placed on the 49.
Well I agree it wouldn’t be a touchdown. The ball has to break the plane of the end zone. If neither the ball nor player reach the end zone it can’t be a TD. This same rule says that if the receiver is in the end zone it’s a TD even if the ball is caught out of bounds.Yup. I read the first part, and not the exception. It’s the 49.
but definitely not a touchdown in the other scenario like that other dunce says
Yes this is the CFB rules.Yup. I read the first part, and not the exception. It’s the 49.
but definitely not a touchdown in the other scenario like that other dunce says.
Are this cfb rulebook?
Also, they definitely did NOT do this in the cfb game last night.
One runner failed to extend it out of bounds and didn’t get the conversion.
So he did the next time, and they gave it to him. And all the commentators said both are how it should be. Including the refs who spotted it that way
Yeah, no shit.LOL
You can run 100 yds down the fucking sideline while holding the ball out of bounds, and it would be a TD unless you step out of bounds.
Maybe?And in college, that’s different?
Lmao. I wouldnt be trying to pile on when you were completely wrong about the issue especially the TDHe's not really interested in the answer to his original question, hell, he's offered a couple others in there since...he's only interested in arguing a point. He's actually so fucking stupid that he doesn't even mind if he's shown repeatedly to be wrong, he insists on continuing to argue. That's all he wants....
Lmao. I wouldnt be trying to pile on when you were completely wrong about the issue especially the TD
If you’re diving , you have to get the ball inside the pylon. That should tell you how wrong you are. Even the notre dame guy above is trying to tell you.
You’re trolling now. For the third time: No one is talking about the ball touching the pylon. Trolling went out of fashion in 1998 dunce.False
The pylon is the goal line (like a pane of glass). That's why it's perfectly in the corner.
Two sides of the pylon are considered a sheet of glass. That which is on the goal line and the side that faces out of bounds.
You merely need to touch the pylon with the ball in any direction before you're considered down for it to be a TD.
You’re trolling now. For the third time: No one is talking about the ball touching the pylon. Trolling went out of fashion in 1998 dunce.
Also, what happens when this happens at the goal line?
You dive from the 4. Ball crosses out of bounds at the 2 yard line. But either the ball or a part of your body hits out of bounds FIRST when the ball is a yard past the pylon (but out of bounds as we said). What happens?
If it was as simple as you describe, you’d never see runners try to extend the ball inside the pylon. So simply, you’re wrong.
Many multiple times.
Again, why would runners try to place the ball inside the pylon if the goal line was “infinite”?
Nope. They do that all the time. Even when extending it past the infinity line would be much easier.
It makes no sense to add the extra factor of trying to get it inside the pylon if outside the pylon is just as good. You’re now just lying
If you’re diving , you have to get the ball inside the pylon. That should tell you how wrong you are. Even the notre dame guy above is trying to tell you.
Stop troll. Even what you quote shows the scenario is about outside the pylon, and I’m only referencing “inside the pylon” in response to another dunce like yourself talking about it.It's you making the statements about "inside the pylon".
The pylon is entirely "inside" the field of play, so that's not the case.
A ball carrier simply needs to touch the pylon on any of it's 4 sides before he's declared down "in or out" of bounds.
Yes, if the quoted rules are the actual ones, it’s 49… where the ball crosses the out of bounds plane… not the 46 where the ball is when the runner finally touches the ground out of bounds.Did we come up with an answer yet
And yet that’s not what the rules say. See the copy pasted rules above. And it’s never done that way at the goal line.The forward progress of the ball is the spot where the ball is when the ball carrier is declared down, whether he's 'in or out' of bounds.
I've seen it reviewed a hundred times.