Dunce Q: Place ball when out of bounds?

"Whut" hell.

If the ball touches any portion of that marker before your knee/foot/hip, etc is down inbounds or out-of-bounds, it's a TD.

Every time.

View attachment 51579
Ok, forget that.

What if the player extends the ball, but never touches the pylon, but actually puts the ball on the outside of it, but his feet are still in bounds in the field of play
 
Ok, forget that.

What if the player extends the ball, but never touches the pylon, but actually puts the ball on the outside of it, but his feet are still in bounds
That’s supposedly a TD. Because he matriculated the ball into the end zone.
but that’s not the scenario I’m talking about.
 
I've said all I'm gonna say.

It's always the forward progress of the ball when a player is down 'in or out' of bounds.

Are there such a thing as bad spots by the refs? Yep

 
I've said all I'm gonna say.

It's always the forward progress of the ball when a player in down 'in or out' of bounds.

Are there such a thing as bad spots by the refs? Yep


Yeah. Well, that’s wrong. Because that’s not what they do as course.
Check this video I’m about to post: the last scenario: it’s still not clear.
 
That’s supposedly a TD. Because he matriculated the ball into the end zone.
but that’s not the scenario I’m talking about.

I'm understanding the problem more now.

It seems simple, but there are so many examples.
In your original scenario I'd go 46
 
I'm understanding the problem more now.

It seems simple, but there are so many examples.
In your original scenario I'd go 46
I would too. But the nfl rules expert just now said different. Which seems stupid.
 
In the NFL, the spot the ball goes out of bounds is the spot for the following line of scrimmage.

The ball does not gain yardage anywhere but within the field of play.
 
In the NFL, the spot the ball goes out of bounds is the spot for the following line of scrimmage.

The ball does not gain yardage anywhere but within the field of play.
And in college, that’s different?
 
There is a reason the pylon is perfectly placed in the corners of the endzone.

They simply need to review whether or not a player was down in or out of bounds before the ball hit the pylon anywhere.

1638742570930.png
Now I'm really out.
 
There is a reason the pylon is perfectly placed in the corners of the endzone.

They simply need to review whether or not a player was down in or out of bounds before the ball hit the pylon anywhere.

View attachment 51580
Now I'm really out.
No one is talking about the ball hitting the pylon, dunce
 
In the NFL, the spot the ball goes out of bounds is the spot for the following line of scrimmage.

The ball does not gain yardage anywhere but within the field of play.


LOL

You can run 100 yds down the fucking sideline while holding the ball out of bounds, and it would be a TD unless you step out of bounds.
 
Who knows what the fuck you're talking about from one day to the next?

"RuLe cHaNgE" - dunce
Stfu Donny. You’re out of your element.
Also, mittens would be sweet.
 
So the End Zone line extends into infinity, as long as the body is still in bounds; the ball can cross outside of the boundary but cross the imaginary end line, and be a touchdown.
It's this. It's not anything else, contrary to what anyone else says....this is the correct answer.
 
Ok, forget that.

What if the player extends the ball, but never touches the pylon, but actually puts the ball on the outside of it, but his feet are still in bounds in the field of play
You were right...he's wrong.
 
It's this. It's not anything else, contrary to what anyone else says....this is the correct answer.
So if I dive from the four, the ball crosses out of bounds at the two, never comes back inbounds, but I actually touch out of bounds when the ball is past the “infinite” goal line, then it’s a TD?
 
So if I dive from the four, the ball crosses out of bounds at the two, never comes back inbounds, but I actually touch out of bounds when the ball is past the “infinite” goal line, then it’s a TD?
Oh and before you answer, I’ll just tell you… it’s not a TD. But under your answer, it should be.
 
Also, what happens when this happens at the goal line?
You dive from the 4. Ball crosses out of bounds at the 2 yard line. But either the ball or a part of your body hits out of bounds FIRST when the ball is a yard past the pylon (but out of bounds as we said). What happens?
Still out of bounds. The ball never breaks the plane at any point and no part of the offensive player’s body is in bounds. Wouldn’t be a touchback they would say it’s out if bounds where the ball crossed the plane if the sideline.
 
So if I dive from the four, the ball crosses out of bounds at the two, never comes back inbounds, but I actually touch out of bounds when the ball is past the “infinite” goal line, then it’s a TD?
Yes, as someone else alluded to earlier, the goal line goes on into infinity..... so if the player is in possession of the ball, in bounds, as the ball crosses the goal line (even if it is held over the out of bounds at the time) it is a TD.
 
Back
Top