Dunce Q: Place ball when out of bounds?

If you’re diving , you have to get the ball inside the pylon. That should tell you how wrong you are. Even the notre dame guy above is trying to tell you.
 
The answer per the rules seems to be the forward progress of the ball out to infinity EXCEPT at the goal line.
And there is no explicit 2nd rule about where to place the ball in the goal line situation (because of the extra rules deciding what is a TD), so they’ve settled into setting the ball where it went over the out of bounds…. Again… which is NOT the rule for anywhere else on the field.
THUS the reason for this thread. The rules are incomplete and dumb. Notice five different guys in this thread arguing about something that should be simply spelled out
 
No. The rule looks to say it’s the 46, ahead of the 49
Jesus Christ that is not the rule. The exception in 4d clearly says for an airborne player (even a striding runner) the ball is spotted where THE BALL crosses the sideline boundary. In your original fact pattern player leaps at the 50 ball goes out of bounds at the 49. Since the ball never re-enters the field of play and the player lands out of bounds everything after this point is irrelevant. Ball placed on the 49.
 
Jesus Christ that is not the rule. The exception in 4d clearly says for an airborne player (even a striding runner) the ball is spotted where THE BALL crosses the sideline boundary. In your original fact pattern player leaps at the 50 ball goes out of bounds at the 49. Since the ball never re-enters the field of play and the player lands out of bounds everything after this point is irrelevant. Ball placed on the 49.
Yup. I read the first part, and not the exception. It’s the 49.
but definitely not a touchdown in the other scenario like that other dunce says.

Are this cfb rulebook?

Also, they definitely did NOT do this in the cfb game last night.

One runner failed to extend it out of bounds and didn’t get the conversion.
So he did the next time, and they gave it to him. And all the commentators said both are how it should be. Including the refs who spotted it that way
 
Jesus Christ that is not the rule. The exception in 4d clearly says for an airborne player (even a striding runner) the ball is spotted where THE BALL crosses the sideline boundary. In your original fact pattern player leaps at the 50 ball goes out of bounds at the 49. Since the ball never re-enters the field of play and the player lands out of bounds everything after this point is irrelevant. Ball placed on the 49.
He's not really interested in the answer to his original question, hell, he's offered a couple others in there since...he's only interested in arguing a point. He's actually so fucking stupid that he doesn't even mind if he's shown repeatedly to be wrong, he insists on continuing to argue. That's all he wants....
 
Yup. I read the first part, and not the exception. It’s the 49.
but definitely not a touchdown in the other scenario like that other dunce says
Well I agree it wouldn’t be a touchdown. The ball has to break the plane of the end zone. If neither the ball nor player reach the end zone it can’t be a TD. This same rule says that if the receiver is in the end zone it’s a TD even if the ball is caught out of bounds.
 
Yup. I read the first part, and not the exception. It’s the 49.
but definitely not a touchdown in the other scenario like that other dunce says.

Are this cfb rulebook?

Also, they definitely did NOT do this in the cfb game last night.

One runner failed to extend it out of bounds and didn’t get the conversion.
So he did the next time, and they gave it to him. And all the commentators said both are how it should be. Including the refs who spotted it that way
Yes this is the CFB rules.
 
LOL

You can run 100 yds down the fucking sideline while holding the ball out of bounds, and it would be a TD unless you step out of bounds.
Yeah, no shit.

I’m was not talking about if a player is still on his feet, in bounds. I’m talking if you dive. It isn’t where you land. It’s where the ball went out of bounds.
 
He's not really interested in the answer to his original question, hell, he's offered a couple others in there since...he's only interested in arguing a point. He's actually so fucking stupid that he doesn't even mind if he's shown repeatedly to be wrong, he insists on continuing to argue. That's all he wants....
Lmao. I wouldnt be trying to pile on when you were completely wrong about the issue especially the TD
 
Here’s another one:
If you walk into the end zone with the ball outside of out of bounds, it’s a touchdown all day.
If you dive from the four with the ball going out of bounds at, let’s say the three, and your off-hand slaps the turf in the end zone with the ball past the infinity goal line out of bounds, what is that?
 
Lmao. I wouldnt be trying to pile on when you were completely wrong about the issue especially the TD

I'm so pleased you think I am wrong. That tells me and anyone else with a functioning brain that I must be right for you to think it's wrong. Thank you so much. You need to slow down the reps with the tackling dummy...try not to lead with your head so much!
 
If you’re diving , you have to get the ball inside the pylon. That should tell you how wrong you are. Even the notre dame guy above is trying to tell you.

False

The pylon is the goal line (like a pane of glass). That's why it's perfectly in the corner.
Two sides of the pylon are considered a sheet of glass. That which is on the goal line and that which is the side that faces out of bounds.

You merely need to touch the pylon with the ball in any direction before you're considered down for it to be a TD.
 
False

The pylon is the goal line (like a pane of glass). That's why it's perfectly in the corner.
Two sides of the pylon are considered a sheet of glass. That which is on the goal line and the side that faces out of bounds.

You merely need to touch the pylon with the ball in any direction before you're considered down for it to be a TD.
You’re trolling now. For the third time: No one is talking about the ball touching the pylon. Trolling went out of fashion in 1998 dunce.
 
You’re trolling now. For the third time: No one is talking about the ball touching the pylon. Trolling went out of fashion in 1998 dunce.
Also, what happens when this happens at the goal line?
You dive from the 4. Ball crosses out of bounds at the 2 yard line. But either the ball or a part of your body hits out of bounds FIRST when the ball is a yard past the pylon (but out of bounds as we said). What happens?

If it was as simple as you describe, you’d never see runners try to extend the ball inside the pylon. So simply, you’re wrong.

Many multiple times.
Again, why would runners try to place the ball inside the pylon if the goal line was “infinite”?

Nope. They do that all the time. Even when extending it past the infinity line would be much easier.
It makes no sense to add the extra factor of trying to get it inside the pylon if outside the pylon is just as good. You’re now just lying

If you’re diving , you have to get the ball inside the pylon. That should tell you how wrong you are. Even the notre dame guy above is trying to tell you.

It's you making the statements about "inside the pylon".

The pylon is entirely "inside" the field of play, so that's not the case.
A ball carrier simply needs to touch the pylon on any of it's 4 sides before he's declared down "in or out" of bounds.
 
It's you making the statements about "inside the pylon".

The pylon is entirely "inside" the field of play, so that's not the case.
A ball carrier simply needs to touch the pylon on any of it's 4 sides before he's declared down "in or out" of bounds.
Stop troll. Even what you quote shows the scenario is about outside the pylon, and I’m only referencing “inside the pylon” in response to another dunce like yourself talking about it.
Again. It’s very clear. This thread is about diving in the air outside the out of bounds.
 
The forward progress of the ball is the spot where the ball is when the ball carrier is declared down, whether he's 'in or out' of bounds.

I've seen it reviewed a hundred times.
 
Did we come up with an answer yet
Yes, if the quoted rules are the actual ones, it’s 49… where the ball crosses the out of bounds plane… not the 46 where the ball is when the runner finally touches the ground out of bounds.
 
The forward progress of the ball is the spot where the ball is when the ball carrier is declared down, whether he's 'in or out' of bounds.

I've seen it reviewed a hundred times.
And yet that’s not what the rules say. See the copy pasted rules above. And it’s never done that way at the goal line.
And yes, I’ve seen it your way many times, including last night.
And I saw the opposite today.
Thus the point of this thread.
 
Back
Top